It’s Getting Serious! Writing My Way.

A while ago, while posting a vague Facebook post about some decisions I had made in regards to career/future, my phone auto-corrected “gut” to “guy.”  As in “I just have to trust my gut (or, as it read: guy) and listen.”  To which a dear friend responded, “your guy?” and my sister chimed in, “… we need to talk soon.”

And I shook my head, and cursed my smart-phone (something that happens a bit it seems), laughed, and responded with the correction, and disbelief that they would think I would trust a guy (especially a guy who neither of them had ever even heard the existence of) with life decisions.  Because, I suppose someday I might be in a relationship serious enough where I would be trusting “my guy,” and seeking their input into big changes I am choosing to take.  But I am not in such a place now.

Which is really just a random glimpse into my life and long introduction to what I really want to write about.

The reality is I am getting serious about something.  I have to admit, this is the first time in my writing career that I’ve been actually serious about my writing.  At least, in some ways.  And to the point where I am actually making some decisions with the question in mind of, “What might this do to my goals as a writer?”

1907341_1423515757914294_25137875546648740_nBefore my writing had been a pastime or hobby.  Something I enjoyed and felt driven to do.  I dreamed about publishing and “being a real writer.”  I dreamed about people reading my writing, people who I didn’t get together with on a regular basis, or weren’t related to me.  And I even submitted my writing for publications, in magazines and such, gathering little stacks of rejection letters at different points in my life.

But, even though I was writing and writing and writing, there was a lot I wasn’t doing.  A lot of things that, just in the past few months (and because of things that have been building and developing over the years) have become a real part of my life.  And I realized that I now, really think of myself as a writer.  I refer to it as my “work” — not my “job,” that’s something else entirely — but my work, certainly.    And it’s causing me to look at some parts of it a little differently.

Things like editing… really editing.  Or setting aside the time to write every day, even if I have no time in that day?  Making decisions about what things I am willing to let go of in order to give myself what I need to work on my writing.  Being willing to keep working on a story even if the “muse” has left and I feel burnt out.  Setting deadlines, and sticking to them.  Setting schedules, and putting myself “out there.”

All these things I have been doing, and slowly am becoming aware of.  And I am doing these things in my own time (obviously.  I mean, I’ve been writing for a long time now, and am only just getting round to being serious about it like this), and in my own way.   Because I always seem to do things in my own way.  Though I suppose we all do — that’s what makes us each unique and special.  We have our own approaches to things, our own ways to pursue our craft and go about our lives.

I’ve reminded myself a lot lately that I can’t compare my own personal timeline to that of other people’s.  Just because so-and-so had done x, y and z by the time they were such-and-such an age, does not mean that I need to be.  Or that I should be.  Because everything that has led me to the place I am in my life, the decisions I have made, the things I have and haven’t done, all have helped to make me me.

And I keep this in mind as I continue to look at the writing I’m doing, and push myself to a point of feeling like my writing, my craft, is really my work.  Writing my way to something.  Writing, my way.

 

One thought on “It’s Getting Serious! Writing My Way.”

What do you think?

