What!? Talk about acceleration! Time to celebrate!

In the not-so-distant past (2 weeks ago… seriously, two weeks ago?) I remember sitting at my computer, obsessively checking my blog stats (because, as much as I hate to admit it, that’s a thing that I do entirely too much), and realizing that, somehow, I was nearing 40 “followers.”   40!  And many of those were people I didn’t actually know in real-life, people who had read my blog, and decided it was worth continuing to read even though they didn’t know me in person.

And then I wrote this poem, and someone decided it was worthy of being Freshly Pressed.  And suddenly, everything exploded.  Before the day was done I had surpassed 100 followers, and then it kept climbing… and climbing… and now, now I have nearly 400+!  And I am astounded.  According to the map my blog has been viewed in something like 82 countries, and has had over 3,000 views.  I’m not a numbers person — I tend to forget them, and put them together wrong — but I know that those numbers are pretty awesome.  At least, they sound it to me.

But, I also feel like I’ve bypassed some things. Because this all came so quickly (and at a time when I was unable to focus as much attention on the blog as I would like due to life circumstances), milestones that I would have celebrated (like my 100th follower), milestones that I didn’t expect to come for months, if not years, have sped by.

So, even though I’m not quite at 400, I am going to celebrate all the 380 390-some-odd (!) of you that have decided my blog is worth reading!

A Celebratory snack!
A Celebratory snack!

But, how to celebrate… that is the question.

Some I have seen celebrating milestones by sharing random facts about themselves.  Which I find awesome… but I feel like my blog gives you all sorts of random facts, and besides, I’m not sure what you’d want to know.

So instead, I’d like to celebrate by learning about you.  Who are you?  Why do you read my blog?  What would you like to see more of (or, dare I ask, less of) here? Tell us some sort of random thing about yourself.  And, what kind of random things would you like to know about me?

I’ve always been the kind of person who prefers parties where I can sit down and chat with a group of friends, so let’s get some conversation going.

“Hi, I’m Allison, nice to meet you.  I… am suddenly realizing I need to figure out that “cocktail party” fact about myself, that intriguing sounding thing that leads to a story and makes you interesting to talk to…. “

3 thoughts on “What!? Talk about acceleration! Time to celebrate!”

  1. Hello, and Congrats! I can’t imagine how exciting this must be for you! *toasts*

    I’m very happy to say that your comment about “finding your people” back on my blog is a mutual feeling – I feel a sense of kinship whenever I read your posts. Whether is the writer’s ramble or something more fictional, I quite like the tone, the “youness” that shines through. That’s what I keep reading for. It feels as though I’m reading letters from a friend, and I quite like it. 🙂

    As for a cocktail party fact… Hmmm, what would I bring to a conversation? Oh, here’s a goodie:

    “Seth has been teaching me to dance- oh yes, belly dance. I take classes with a local group, and he’s decided to tutor me personally. Yup, fictional character in my head, giving me dance lessons – would you like to see?”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hehehe I love that cocktail party prompt! And Belly dancing is so much fun — I took a few lessons, and keep planning to take more… need to put the pretty, noisy, scarf I bought to use! However, sadly, none of my fictional characters are helping me out much in that endeavor. Or.. with much. Mostly they’re just frustrating me by insisting certain events happen at certain times even if they don’t mesh with how I think they should happen. Bah!

    Like

What do you think?

