Where does my time go?

It’s Monday.  In theory these are my day off – but I seem to keep filling them up with things to do.  One of the things I’ve been working on lately is a project for school, in which I’m exploring different peoples concept of “Sabbath” or a day of rest.  It’s kind of interesting to look at, to find out what people’s practices for rest, relaxation, and rejuvenation are.  I’m also mixing together pictures, videos, and perhaps even some music.  Lots of work, and lots of reflection on what this whole Sabbath concept means to me.  I’m still really thinking about it -it isn’t a religious time for me, but there is certainly some sort of connection to something else.  I need time of reflection, time of rest, time to let myself be renewed.  But how do I do these things?  I find it so hard to set aside a day (and Monday’s are the only day I can really set aside) when I wont do any work.  My brain wont let me stop thinking about the work that needs to be done, and I find the day spent in fighting my urge to do work.  Not very restful.
I keep thinking that if I try more then I’ll finally teach myself to take the rest, but I wonder how long that will take….

What do you do for your own time of rest?  How do you find rejuvenation?  And how do you manage to shut off that part of your brain that carries with it all the worries and “to-do-lists” for the week?

What do you think?

