Gluten-Free stuffed pastas!

I did it!  Gluten-Free stuffed pasta!!

I’ve never made stuffed pasta before, other than the kind that I take out of the bag and stick in boiling water.   But I’ve been craving the stuff, and before I was gluten-free I loved tortellini, so I figured, why not give it a try.

First, I had to make the dough.  I knew that this was the most vital part of making the pasta actually be… pasta.  So I decided to start with a recipe.  I found a great one at Bob’s Red Mill

This called for:

  • 1/3 cup Tapioca Flour
  • 1/3 cup Cornstarch
  • 2 TB Potato Starch
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 TB Xanthan Gum
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 TB Vegetable Oil

I mixed them all together, and then – because I am in the midst of chaotic, busy part of my life so once I’d made the dough, I didn’t really have the time to continue with the pasta making until a few days later.

When I did get to the actual making of the pasta it took quite a while.  Having no pasta machine, I was doing it all by hand.  Thankfully I have acquired a rolling pin since the last project (thanks to a friend of mine – Thanks Erica!!)

Creating circles in the dough

I decided to try two kinds of pasta.  One with a filling made of Ricotta cheese, some parmesan, and some Italian herb seasoning.  The other was leftover butternut squash soup I’d made a time back and frozen.  I mixed with it some ricotta to thicken it a bit.  So, I thought it would be easier to make some Ravioli and some Tortellini (so I could have different pastas for each filling!)

First, I rolled the pasta as thin as I could (though I think it could have stood to be even thinner.  I used a cup to form circles – which I rolled even thinner, and then some got a little dab of the squash filling and rolled into tortellini’s, others got ricotta and then cut into squares of ravioli.

Filling the pasta
Folding the pasta
Tortellini!
Ravioli

These sat out for a little bit, while I waited for dinner time, and then I put them slowly into some boiling water.  I cooked them for about 10 minutes and they were ready.

Forgot to take pictures of the finished product – but both types were yummy!  Next time I’ll experiment with some sauces to compliment the pasta 🙂

 

In other news – school is gearing up, and I’m transitioning into the start of the program year at church, and cutting back on my workstudy.  I foresee a potentially bumpy couple weeks as  I transition, so I am entering sporadic updating stage for a time.  With me luck!!

What do you think?

