Can’t quite beat the heat, but at least you can have something cool to drink!

We’ve had a few hot days in Maine this summer.  Not as hot as some places in the country, but still, hotter (and more humid) than I care for!

This sign tends to run closer to what I think must be the "feels like" temp... still... way too hot for me!

I found myself really wanting some strawberry lemonade, something refreshing, cool, and a bit sweet.  And I have all these strawberries, that I’ve only used a little of, which still need to be put to use.  They’ve been taking up too much space in my freezer.

A small portion of my frozen strawberries!

But… I also had gone blueberry picking with a friend some time ago – and had yet to do anything with those blueberries!  We spent a LOOOONG time out picking those berries, so I had a lot of them, and wanted to do more with them then putting them on my morning yogurt before I stuck them in the freezer.

Some of the blueberries

A thought starts brewing in my mind… what if I combined my blueberries and strawberries and made myself some strawberry-blueberry-lemonade?  Yumm.

I dug up a few recipes to help guide me (as usual… no reason to start on these things completely blind).  I Googled “Blueberry Juice” and came up with a great recipe from Eggless Cooking, which I used almost directly.  This was to deal with the blueberries and ended up looking like this:

  • 1¼ cup blueberries
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tsp sugar.

I put these together in a saucepan and put them on the stove to boil.   After they’ve reached a boil, I turned the temp down and let them simmer for about 10 minutes.

While that was boiling I took some of the strawberries (which I had thawed) and tossed them in the blender to puree them.  I forgot to measure as I put them in, but I ended up with 2 cups when they were all blended up.

Pureed strawberry mush!

To this I added:

  •  ½ tsp sugar
    ½ c. water
    1 Tbsp Lemon Juice (because I realized, I didn’t have any lemons, and wanted just a slight hint of the lemon flavor).

Once the blueberries were done I strained out the juice, then added ½ cup water to the remaining berries and blended them up.

Ready to mix it all up, moments like this I am thankful for the hand-blender I bought years ago!

I then added these to the mix, and added 2 more cups of water (to liquefy it a bit more) and put it in the fridge for a time.

The end result:

Yummy!

It is a little thick – but I like that!  I can either drink it straight from the fridge like that, and have more of a smoothie, or I can add ice-cubes and some cold water to my cup to have a more juice-like drink.  For the legal-drinking-age crowd, you can also add a dash of something heavier and have a fruity cocktail.

What do you think?

