Divine Poptarts in 8 easy steps!

Last night I decided I really wanted Pop-Tarts… I’ve always been a fan of the yummy flavored filling and the sugary icing.  So I looked around online, dug up a few Gluten-Free recipes to meld together, and got to baking!

Step 1:  Make the dough!  Mix up:

  • 1.5  Cups Gluten-Free Flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose Baking Flour)
  • 1/4 tsp xantham gum
  • 1 egg
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 tsp Sugar
  • Approximately 5 tbsp water

The dough was sticky, but I was able to roll it into balls okay.  I think perhaps refrigerating it for a while would make it even better to work with.

Step 2: Roll it

I took some of the dough, put it on a piece of parchment paper, put another piece of parchment paper on top of it and… realized I had no rolling pin…

Creativity is key 🙂

Never fear – I’ve got these awesome glass water bottles that are nice and rounded, so – I used one of those as a rolling pin!

In the future I think I would try to make it a little thinner, but it can’t be too thin because it needs to be able to hold the filling.

Once I had them all rolled out, I trimmed the edges of the dough to make a little rectangle of dough – for the most part I made these one-at-a-time (though this is a picture of the time I did two at ones).  My handy-dandy pizza slicer was perfect for cutting the dough to make the edges straight.

Step 3: Make the Filling

I put the dough aside and decided to make some filling.  This go I tried 4 types of filling.

  • My roommate likes the cinnamon Pop-Tarts, so I had to make some of those using this mix: 1 egg, 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 Tbsp Cinnamon.  This seems to make enough filling that I imagine it would work for almost this entire batch of dough.
  • I have always loved the Strawberry Pop-Tarts, so I went ahead and took 1/4 cup Strawberries (sliced up), 1 tsp granulated sugar, 1tsp powdered sugar.  I wanted to mash these up, but I don’t have any real tool to do that with – and it seemed silly to use a food processor for such a small amount of stuff, so I got out a bowl and a little ladle, which worked great!
  • I have these frozen blueberries that I picked last summer – I’m always so afraid of using them all up that I end up not eating them all.. but since I’ll be getting more this summer I figured I should put these to use.  Instead of mashing these up (since I thought of using them last minute and just grabbed them from the freezer!) I just mixed 1/3 cup of them with 2 tsp sugar.
  • Because of my failure with butterscotch chips last time I tried, and because I have a stubborn streak in me (and an open bag of butterscotch chips) I decided to try a butterscotch filling… consider it a dessert Pop-Tart (… like the regular ones aren’t really more fit for dessert food….).

Step 4: Placing the Filling!

Pretty much as it sounds.   I took a small scoop of filling and placed them in the middle of half of the pastry. (Those rolls along the side of the picture are the dough I cut away from the sides – it was kinda fun to roll it up and toss it aside to be used for the next pastry).

Step 5: Fold it up

Nearing the end here.  I folded the pastry by lifting the parchment paper and using that to fold the whole thing over – pressing down the edges before lifting the paper.  Then I went over the edges with a fork – to make a nice little indentation pattern (and to help those edges be pressed together.)

Step 6: Cook it!

I put parchment paper on my cookie-sheet (because I only own one cookie sheet, and one small pizza sheet so want to be able to reuse them without having to wash them).  To transfer the pastry’s to the cookie-sheet I took the parchment paper they were one, picked it up, and just placed them upside down on the cookie sheet.  That way I didn’t have to worry about tearing the pastry while moving them, and it let me take the fork-press to the other side of the pastry.  Then I poked some holes in the top with my handy-dandy fork (’cause a number of the recipes said to).

The "C" means it's cinnamon.

Then it was time to pop it in the oven at

400 for 17 minutes

Step 7: Finishing Touches

Once these were out of the oven I tried frosting them.  The cinnamon filling actually served very well for a glaze-topping (and once it had set it got that shiny-solid feel to it that the commercially available Pop-tarts have!)  I tried to make a strawberry glaze using powdered sugar, milk and strawberry flavoring (and some coloring)… but I ran out of powdered sugar, and the glaze was too runny… think with a little more work I could make a better strawberry topping.

The Finished product!

Step 8: Enjoy!!

So, now it was time to try them.  I like sugary things, so felt like perhaps I wanted more sugar in the dough.. but that aside… THESE ARE DELICIOUS!!  My roommate called it a “Divine Poptart”!!  They are best warm – and while I would hesitate to put them in a standard toaster, I happy to have a toaster oven, which served well for re-heating them this morning.

When I make them again (and I will make them again… I have to see how well they freeze, after all!  and there are some variations I have to give a try)… there are a few tweaks I’d like to make.   The blueberry filling was lackluster, and needs some work.  The strawberry filling is good, but I want even more strawberries in there for stronger flavor.  The cinnamon ones… uhm… I want to challenge myself to make them have straighter edges.  Yes… those ones are pretty amazingly spot-on!  Haven’t tried the butterscotch one yet – but it cooked up fine 🙂

This amount of dough made enough for 2 “commercial sized” ones, and 4 small ones – so it probably would make 4 “normal sized” ones if you wanted to experiment with less flavor varieties.

Yum!

3 thoughts on “Divine Poptarts in 8 easy steps!”

What do you think?

